“God created man before woman. But you always make a rough draft before the final masterpiece.”

Aphrodite- classical image of female beauty.

Hello everyone!  I am somewhat new to the blogging world (apart from a short chronicle of my travels a few years ago).  This has been something I have been thinking about doing for awhile now, and I have decided that it is time.  First of all, let me tell you the motivation behind this blog.  As a twenty-three year old girl, I have found that I struggle with a lot of questions, concerns, personal thoughts about my body, my future, my relationships, etc.  Not unlike many other women out there, I oftentimes turn to the internet for answers, or suggestions.  Unfortunately, I am usually unsuccessful.  I find that there is an abundance of information out there for people who fit a certain profile.  For example, weight loss blogs written by people with a significant amount of weight to lose, or diet blogs written by vegans or former diabetics, blogs for marathon runners, and many more.  Yet I find that there is a lack of information for the “normal” women out there, like me for example.  I am not overweight, I am not a vegan, I am not a marathon runner.  I am just an average woman concerned about every day things, like staying physically fit, finding a job, planning my future, maintaining relationships, and learning to love the body I was given.  Some of you might be thinking, “well isn’t that what your friends and family are for?”, and my answer is yes…sometimes.  I know that I am not always comfortable with sharing my most private thoughts and problems with my closest friends or even my mother.   In these instances, I believe that an anonymous community of women would be the perfect outlet.

So here it is…my answer to this internet void.

Now, a little more about myself.  After many years of hard work, I am finally on my way to medical school.  Fingers crossed, I will be starting my first year in August 2012.  Many people ask me the standard question, “what type of doctor do you want to be?”.  Over the years I have gone back and forth between a few different specialties, but recently, I’ve realized that my desire is to become a physician specializing in women’s health.  Not necessarily, obstetrics or gynecology, but general women’s health.  I know that ever since I left my pediatrician, I have struggled to find a doctor who I felt truly understood the personal issues both medically and personally that many women struggle with.  I am not completely sure if there is a need for physicians with this sort of specialty, so I guess this blog is a little bit of an exploration in that regard.  I hope that my readers will leave comments, ask questions, make suggestions and ultimately, this blog can become a forum for women, so that we can realize that we are not alone in the issues that we struggle with.

I look forward to embarking on this journey with you!

This entry was posted in Women's Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

