I’ve been slacking.

I admit it, I have been seriously slacking on my posts for the past…oh….three months.  I’ve decided recently that I really want to do this.  I have a lot on my mind, and I am constantly trying new things, so maybe someone out there might actually be interested in what I have to say, so here goes round 2.  My previous concept…women’s issues, problems, etc is going to be expanded significantly.  Although my target audience is women of all ages (that’s not to say that men are not welcome as well!), I want to also share recipes, projects, experiences so I guess this will be a mish mosh of everything.

Another confession…this blog might be my way of clearing my head of the thoughts that are constantly whirring around in there.  It hope it will help me to hold myself accountable for things that I begin…such as knitting.  Yes, just recently I have begun to teach myself to knit.  I was bored one day and figured this would be a nice life long hobbie.  Well if you ask anyone who knows me, they will tell you that I am not the type to sit for hours on end and play with yarn.  But I am determined to stick with it.  By next Christmas I hope to be able to create a plethora of gifts for family and friends with my new skill.  If anyone has any tips for me, I would greatly appreciate it.  Maybe someone knows how to avoid making the stitches too tight?  That seems to be my biggest problem at the moment.

Confession number three…I have recently been reinspired by another female blogger that I came across.  Maybe you are also familiar with Iowa Girl Eats?  If not, check her out.  Anyway, I hope I can be forgiven for this three month hiatus and I promise that I will be coming through with updates multiple times per week!

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve been slacking.

  1. Danielle says:

    When I first started knitting, I noticed my stitches were always tight too. Sometimes it depends on the type of yarn or needles you’re using. Be sure to give yourself enough slack with the working yarn. The more you practice, the better you’ll get and the easier it will be to keep the stitches looser (I’ve noticed more often than not recently that my stitches are sometimes too loose!)

    There’s a lot of great literature out there on knitting as well! One of my favorite books to keep in my knitting bag is “The Knitting Answer Book” (see on amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Knitting-Answer-Book-Solutions-Question/dp/1580175996/ref=pd_sim_sbs_b_6). I love having this with me. It’s a great guide that explains a lot of stitches and steps and fixes with issues. The images are sketches not actual photos, but I find it’s still very helpful.

    Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

