Very easy do it yourself wall art for any room of the house!

Anyone who knows me can tell you that I am not really the do it yourself type.  But a few weeks ago I found the general outline for this project online and decided to give it a try for my boyfriends Valentine’s Day gift.  The whopping list of materials is as follows:

1. Piece of art- anything from a photograph, painting, print, poster will work well

2. white spray paint

3. vinyl lettering (can be found at a craft store- I got mine from JoAnne Fabrics)

That’s right, only three items.  If you would like to frame your piece then a mat and frame are needed as well.  My boyfriend loves the New England Patriots so for the basis of my project I found a very cool print of a Tom Brady painting in poster form.  The next step is to figure out what you want the lettering to say.  For mine, I chose a famous quote by the Patriots coach, “Do your job” along with “Patriots Football”.  I laid out the vinyl lettering on the poster.

Make sure the lettering you buy has sticky backing so that they do not move when spray painting.  Once the lettering is in place, spray with white spray paint in even strokes over the entire piece. Use your judgement as to how dark you want the paint to be.  I did approximately two coats.  I found that this amount gave the effect of  a watermark, yet dark enough that the lettering could be easily read.

Once the paint dries (give it about an hour or two), carefully peel off the vinyl lettering and voila, you have a beautiful piece of art for any room of the house.  I gave him his gift last weekend and it was a hit!  I may be making another one for myself sometime soon!

This entry was posted in art project, do it yourself, gift idea, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very easy do it yourself wall art for any room of the house!

  1. Danielle says:

    that looks fantastic! I may have to try it.

  2. Sherri says:

    this looks great! fun idea

Leave a Reply

